Watershed Planning Councils


The Northwest Municipal Conference participates in Stormwater Management initiatives primarily through the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago Watershed Planning Councils (Poplar Creek, Upper Salt Creek, North Branch of the Chicago River and Lower Des Plaines River) and the Upper Des Plaines River and Tributaries Advisory Committee.

Watershed Planning Councils

On November 17, 2004, Public Act 093-1049 was passed by the Illinois Legislature. That Act was the implementation of stormwater management legislation in Cook County between the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago (MWRDGC) and the area Cook County Councils of Government (COGs). The COGs include the Northwest Municipal Conference, the South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association, the Southwest Conference of Mayors and the West Central Municipal Conference.
The Councils of Government agreed to provide administrative oversight and management to the following watersheds as defined in the Act:

  • North Branch Chicago River
  • Poplar Creek
  • Upper Salt Creek
  • Lower Des Plaines River
  • Cal-Sag Channel
  • Little Calumet River
  • Combined Sewer Areas

The legislation mandated stormwater management in Cook County be placed under the authority of the MWRDGC, creation of watershed planning councils and development of comprehensive stormwater ordinances/regulations.

The COGs jointly prepared bylaws and rules of operation for each watershed planning council that are consistent for all of the Council. The bylaws and rules for operation can be found here.

Printer Friendly Stormwater Management Planning Councils - Rules and Regulations

Quarterly meetings were also scheduled for all watershed planning councils. Executive Officers and subcommittees were formed and will continue to form as the councils move forward. Furthermore, the watershed planning councils shall advise the MWRDGC representing the needs and interests of the respective watershed and for the development of a stormwater management plan.

The Northwest Municipal Conference provides administrative assistance to three of the watershed planning councils. Please click additional menu items to see each watershed planning council’s members, meetings and additional information.

For more information, please contact Eric Czarnota at 847-296-9200, ext. 128.