1600 East Golf Road
Suite 0700
Des Plaines, IL 60016
Phone: 847-296-9200
Fax: 847-296-9207

Northwest Council of Mayors


Road ConstructionThe Northwest Municipal Conference serves as home for the Northwest Council of Mayors, a cooperative body focused upon programming federal transportation funding for local road, transit, and bicycle facility projects. Members of the Northwest Council operate through a Technical Committee comprised of local mayors and managers whose mission is to identify and address local improvements to the transportation network. The Northwest Council is part of the larger Council of Mayors, comprised of 11 sub-regional councils representing local governments on transportation issues through the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP). CMAP serves as the Chicago region’s metropolitan planning organization, and is responsible for the programming of federal Surface Transportation Program (STP) funding.  Staff also assists municipalities with programming other federal transportation fund sources including the Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality (CMAQ) Program, Illinois Transportation Enhancement Program (ITEP) funds, Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) and Safe Routes to School funds. 

The staff contact for the Northwest Council of Mayors is Joshua Klingenstein, who can be reached at 847-296-9200 x 128 or


Northwest Council of Mayors Members

The following municipalities are members of the Northwest Council:
Arlington Heights, Barrington, Bartlett*, Buffalo Grove**, Des Plaines, Elk Grove Village, Hanover Park*, Hoffman Estates, Inverness***, Mount Prospect, Niles, Palatine, Park Ridge, Prospect Heights, Rolling Meadows, Schaumburg, South Barrington***, Streamwood, and Wheeling.

* also a member of DuPage Council
** also a member of Lake Council
*** not a NWMC member


Current Program and Methodology

Public comment period open for updated Northwest Council STP Methodology
The Northwest Council of Mayors Technical Committee has drafted an updated methodology for the distribution of federal Surface Transportation Program funding. As part of this process, the draft document is available below for public comment from Friday, August 16, 2019 through Tuesday, September 3, 2019. Comments will be considered when finalizing the STP methodology, which will go before the full Northwest Council of Mayors for their approval on September 11, 2019. Please submit any comments to

Adobe Logo Final Draft Methodology for Public Comment

The Northwest Council has programmed future STP funds through fiscal year 2020.  Projects that have been accepted by the Council but have no funding programmed are shown on the Multi-Year "B" list.  

Adobe Logo NW Council STP Program Approved August 16, 2019

The Northwest Council programs STP funding utilizing a methodology developed specifically with the needs of the communities in mind.  The methodology was updated in 2015.  

Adobe Logo NW Council STP guidebook - updated July 2015

NW Council STP Application

To be eligible for STP or other federal funds, a road must be classified by the Federal Highway Administration as a collector or higher.  To view a map of road classification, visit and select "Identify IDOT Key Route" at the bottom of the Legend.   

To apply for a reclassification of a road, please contact Joshua Klingenstein.  


Technical Committee

Big TruckThe Northwest Council of Mayors Technical Committee is responsible for the programming of STP funds, and is composed of four mayors and four village managers from Council members. All decisions of the Technical Committee are voted on by the full Council at the following NWMC Board meeting.

Meeting Schedule

All Northwest Council of Mayors Technical meetings are held at the Barrington Village Hall, 200 S. Hough Street at 8:30 am. 

  • Friday, October 4, 2019
  • Friday, December 6, 2019

Agendas and Minutes

Adobe Logo August 16, 2019 Agenda
Adobe Logo June 14, 2019 Agenda
Adobe Logo April 5, 2019 Agenda
Adobe Logo February 15, 2019 Agenda
Adobe Logo October 19, 2018 Agenda
Adobe Logo August 16, 2018 Agenda
Adobe Logo May 24, 2018 Agenda
Adobe Logo April 6, 2018 Agenda
Adobe Logo February 2, 2018 Agenda
Adobe Logo November 2, 2017 Agenda
Adobe Logo September 29, 2017 Agenda
Adobe Logo September 14, 2017 Agenda
Adobe Logo July 13, 2017 Agenda
Adobe Logo June 30, 2017 Agenda
Adobe Logo April 13, 2017 Agenda
Adobe Logo October 21, 2016 Agenda
Adobe Logo August 11, 2016 - Agenda
Adobe Logo May 6, 2016 - Agenda
Adobe Logo February 11, 2016 - Agenda


History and Previous Projects

Surface Transportation Program (STP) funding was created by Congress through the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991 and renewed through the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21) in 1998, the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU) of 2005 and most recently Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century (MAP-21). STP funding is intended for local governments to address specific transportation issues within their geographic regions. CMAP distributes STP funds based upon a council’s population.

STP funding has been used to reconstruct roadways and improve traffic flow through intersections in Rolling Meadows, Elk Grove Village and Niles. It has been used to construct new transit stations in Arlington Heights and Prospect Heights and improve commuter parking lots in Mount Prospect and Schaumburg. STP funds were used to construct a bikeway in Barrington, add lighting to improve safety for motorists and pedestrians in Buffalo Grove, and construct sidewalks and bus shelters in Elk Grove Village.

The following is a list of all projects accomplished in the Northwest Council using STP funds and similar locally programmed fund sources from 1972 to the present.

Adobe Logo Northwest Council of Mayors STP History (last updated October 1, 2012)