Serving the north and northwest suburbs of Chicago since 1958...


1600 East Golf Road
Suite 0700
Des Plaines, IL 60016
Phone: 847-296-9200
Fax: 847-296-9207

Environmental Best Practices

The Environmental Best Practices Committee provides a forum for municipalities to learn about environmental programs, initiatives and products from NWMC members and from others around the region as well as share their own experiences. 

The Committee typically meets every other month at NWMC offices, on the fourth Wednesday.  The next meeting is March 18 at 2:00 p.m. 

The Committee is chaired by Des Plaines Alderman Mark Walsten.  If your community has a best practice that it would like to share with the Committee, please contact Mike Walczak at 847-296-9200 x 34 or 

Bock Awards

The Irwin A. Bock Award is presented annually to NWMC municipalities who have demonstrated a commitment to protecting our environment through thoughtful programs or projects.    

Applications for the 2015 Bock Award are now being accepted.  Applications must be received by March 13.  Send completed applications to Mike Walczak (  The presentation of the awards will be made at the NWMC Banquet on June 24 in Evanston. 

2015 Irwin A. Bock Award Application

2010 Irwin A. Bock Award Winners
2009 Irwin A. Bock Award Winners

2008 Irwin A. Bock Award Winners
2007 Irwin A. Bock Award Winners
Irwin A. Bock Award Past Winners